Friday, July 8, 2016

The Quieting and The Imposter by Suzanne Woods Fisher Book Review

It was a well-laid plan--but it wasn't her plan . . .
It's all her grandmother's fault. For the last few months, Abigail Stoltzfus has helped her father with his genealogical research, hoping that breaking through a client's brick wall would also break his melancholy. But now her intrusive grandmother has set her sights on marrying off Abigail and insists she come to Stoney Ridge, where there is a plethora of eligible bachelors. 

Except that Mammi is mistaken. There are no eligible bachelors in Stoney Ridge, barring one, and he's all wrong. Dane Glick has the wrong last name and the wrong relatives--including the bishop who is at odds over a church matter with Abigail's uncle, minister David Stoltzfus. 

As the conflict grows, setting family against family, it's becoming clear that the path to a solution may lead to a Quieting--a removal of a church leader. But for which one? And when Abigail stumbles onto a curious connection during her genealogical research, it could help David solve one problem--but will it create another?

Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author whose most recent novels include The Imposter, Anna's Crossing, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and The Heart of the Amish. She lives in California. Learn more at and follow Suzanne on Twitter @suzannewfisher.

The Author

  1. Suzanne Woods Fisher
    © Dan Davis Photography

    Suzanne Woods Fisher

    Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of The Letters, The Calling, the Lancaster County Secrets series, and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace. She is also the...


"Fisher is a talented author who knows what readers have come to expect from her novels and always gives them more."
RT Book Reviews, 4-star review
"Fisher's deliciously heartwarming contemporary Amish romance, the second in the Bishop's Family series (after The Imposter), picks up a few months after the first left off and is told from a variety of viewpoints. . . . This fascinating glimpse into a closed culture explores the depth and breadth of its members' commonalities and differences. The deftly written tale of life, love, and faith is filled with a delightful cast of characters. "
Publishers Weekly, starred reviews
My review;

I just finished reading the second book in "The Bishop's Family" by Suzanne Woods Fisher called "The Quieting"  Abigail Stolzfus is helping her father with genealogical research. She hoped that it would help him through depression. Not only does she have to help him, but her grandmother wants her to get married. Mammi wants her to come to Stoney Ridge to find a husband. The only person that Abigail might like is not one that they approve of. The church is not happy with him. Will they ever be able to have a future? Will the families ever get along. This is a story of love and family. I give this book a 4/5. I was given this book by Revell Publishing and these are all my opinions.

I also really enjoyed book one and was enthralled with the way Katrina handles business affairs. She needs to open up her heart a second time, but will she be able to? I am giving book 1, The Imposter, a 4/5. I was given a copy to review, however all opinions are my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment